Racism, Anti-Racism, and Health Disparities

• An Antiracist Reading List / Ibram X. Kendi
• Black Lives Matter (SpringerNature)
• For Our White Friends Desiring to be Allies / Courtney Ariel
• The Giant Plan to Track Diversity in Research Journals / Else H, Perkel JM in Nature
• BMJ: Racism in Medicine
• 75 Things White People Can Do for Racial Justice / Corinne Shutack
• What Do Coronavirus Racial Disparities Look Like State By State? / NPR
• Who Gets to Be Afraid in America? / Ibram X. Kendi
• White Fragility / Robin D'Angelo in The International Journal of Critical Pedagogy

For a more complete collection of articles see Northwestern University Library's list.

• COVID-19 Webinar Series / Blavatink Institute, Harvard University
• Digitally Desegragating Evanston / Evanston Public Library
• Dissed: Disability as a Diversity Issue in Medical Education (J. Cain and A. Wong) / The Society of Teachers of Family Medicine (SFTM)
• Open at the Margins: Critical Perspectives in Open Education / Maha Bali et al., eds.
• The Problem with Race-Based Medicine (TED Talk) / Dorothy Roberts

Specialties and Collections

• Anti-Racism Education Collection- AAMC MedEd Portal: practice-based, peer-reviewed resources to teach anti-racist knowledge and clinical skills
• Antiracism Toolkit for Organizations / Coalition for Diversity & Inclusion in Scholarly Communications
• Black & Brown Skin (website with images); Mind the Gap: A handbook of clinical signs in Black and Brown skin (downloadable handbook)
• DEI- AccessMedicine content - textbooks, chapters, cases / McGraw-Hill
• Diversity and Inclusion Toolkit Resources / AAMC
• Graphic Medicine: African-American / Black Experiences and Anti-Racism in Graphic Medicine /  NNLM
• Health Inequality Data Repository / WHO
• History: Roots of Racism in Health and Medicine / Medical Heritage Library [after June 30, 2024, available in Internet Archive]
• History: Syllabus: A History of Anti-Black Racism in Medicine / AAIHS
• Native Health Database: information about health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations
• Psychiatry: A Primer of Online Resources on Structural Racism in Psychiatry for Medical Students & Trainees in Psychiatry / American Psychiatric Association
• Racial Equity Tools - includes glossary, resource lists, curricula

See list of general anti-racism resources and link to podcasts in Northwestern University  / Libraries / Research Guides / Anti-Racism Resources