GalterGuides: Scoping Reviews: Sources to Search

Search Sources for Systematic and Scoping Reviews

Cochrane Centralized Register of Controlled Trials
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) is a bibliographic database of definitive controlled trials and provides bibliographic information (not full-text) on nearly 500,000 reports of trials identified by Cochrane contributors.
Embase
Embase is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing international journals in the fields of drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
MEDLINE (Ovid)
The premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
PubMed
PubMed MEDLINE was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.
Scopus
Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database, including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.

African Index Medicus
Very few African health and biomedical information sources are included in the world’s leading databases. WHO has produced this international index to African health literature to help address this imbalance.
AgeLine
AgeLine provides citations for literature on aging and social gerontology, and includes content from numerous fields including sociology, psychology, social work, economics, public policy and health sciences. The focus is on the population aged 50+. 1978-Present, Selected Coverage 1966-1977. Individual publication coverage varies by title.
CINAHL with Full Text
CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers It provides indexing for over 1,200 nursing journals and publications dating back to 1982.
Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information & Exchange (CIRRIE)
The Center for International Rehabilitation Research and Information Exchange currently contains over 165,000 citations of international rehabilitation research published between 1990 and the present. Only includes research conducted outside the United States. For research conducted within the U.S., consult the REHABDATA database.
Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology Database (DART)
The Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology database provides more than 400,000 journal references covering teratology and other aspects of developmental and reproductive toxicology.
ERIC
Database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature, including pedagogy, counseling and psychology. Covers 1966-present.
LILACS
The Latin American and Caribbean Center on Health Sciences Information indexes over 670 medical journals from Latin America and the Caribbean. Only 40 of these journals are also indexed in MEDLINE.
OTseeker
Contains over 12,000 abstracts of systematic reviews and RCTs relevant to occupational therapy.
PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database)
A free database of over 39,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress
The PILOTS bibliographic database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
PsycINFO
Produced by the American Psychological Association, this database is a comprehensive index to the professional and academic literature in psychology, counseling and related disciplines. Covers 1860-present.
Research and Development Resource Base (RDRB)
The Research and Development Resource Base is a bibliographic database that was started over 25 years ago, and contains information related to medical education.
REHABDATA
This database from the National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) has over 80,000 abstracts related rehabilitation research, independent living, technology, capacity building, and more. It contains projects from 1988 to present.
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts provides citations and abstracts to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Content coverage includes culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, race and ethnicity, social change and economic development, and more. 1952-Present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.
TOXLINE
This database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens.
TRID
Produced and maintained by the Transportation Research Board, TRID is the world's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic resource on transportation research information, covering all modes of transportation.

Grey literature is typically described as research produced outside of traditional publishing channels. Grey literature includes conference posters and presentations, theses, government reports, and more. Also check Scopus, Web of Science, and Embase for conference proceedings.

ClinicalTrials.gov
A registry and results database of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world.
Grey Literature Report
A bimonthly publication of The New York Academy of Medicine that highlights new publications in health services and selected public health topics.
Mednar
A deep web federated search engine designed to quickly search a multitude of credible sources.
OpenGrey
A mutidisciplinary European database that covers the grey literature in science, technology, biomedical science, and more.