Liaison Librarian
Lurie Staff Assistance
Are you a Lurie or Stanley Manne staff member? Contact librarian Andrea Fawcett at Lurie Children's Hospital for assistance.
Off Campus Access to Ebooks and Journals
If you are connecting from off-campus, sign into the Galter Library website first to guarantee seamless access to the library's licensed resources.
First-time users of Galter Library off-campus access will need to create a library website account. You will need a NetID to get started. Off-campus access is only available to currently-affiliated faculty, students, residents and staff of the Feinberg School of Medicine.
Prefer to use VPN? Follow the instructions on the NUIT website.
Audience for this guide
This guide is intended to help you with your research in Pediatrics, including using library services, finding a book, locating a journal or article, navigating a database, and finding quality web resources. Please email us with recommendations for additions to this guide and don't hesitate to contact us for resource and strategy assistance.
Popular Databases
- CINAHL with Full TextCINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers It provides indexing for over 1,200 nursing journals and publications dating back to 1982.
- Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
- EmbaseEmbase is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing international journals in the fields of drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
- Journal Citation ReportsJournal Citation Reports allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately thousands of scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings published in over 60 countries.
- MEDLINE (Ovid)The premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
- PsycINFOProduced by the American Psychological Association, this database is a comprehensive index to the professional and academic literature in psychology, counseling and related disciplines. Covers 1860-present.
- PubMedPubMed MEDLINE was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.
- ScopusScopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database, including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
- Web of ScienceMultidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.