GalterGuides: Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics: Databases

Databases for Biochemistry

SciFinder is a useful database of chemical information and published literature. To use SciFinder, you must register at the CAS site. You can find the registration page at this link. Once registered, log in to SciFinder with your registration information and search for drugs, compounds, literature and much more.

OMMBID This link opens in a new window
Provides encyclopedic coverage of a host of human disorders from the genetic variation to the clinical descriptions and treatment
SciFinder-N / SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new window
FIRST TIME USERS: Register using Northwestern email address.

Online version of Chemical Abstracts database includes citations to journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, dissertations, books, reviews, and technical reports.

Popular Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers It provides indexing for over 1,200 nursing journals and publications dating back to 1982.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing international journals in the fields of drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Journal Citation Reports allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately thousands of scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings published in over 60 countries.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
The premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychological Association, this database is a comprehensive index to the professional and academic literature in psychology, counseling and related disciplines. Covers 1860-present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed MEDLINE was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database, including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.