Writing, Citing, & Publishing

There are many helpful resources surrounding open access. Here are a few you may be interested in:

• Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) - community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to OA books
• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) - community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to OA journals
• OAD (Open Access Directory) wiki site – contains a complete history of OA, lists of OA journals, institutions with OA policies, educational materials, and a lot more
• OASIS – Open Access Scholarly Information Sourcebook. Click the "Researchers" link in the left menu bar
• Open Access Guide – a guide by Northwestern University Libraries
• Open Access Health Information - a guide by Galter Library on health resources that are freely available
• PLoS – Public Library of Science (PLoS) is an open access scientific publisher
• SPARC– Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC) works to enable open sharing of research outputs and educational material

Your Liaison Librarian can help you:

• find open access journals that relate to your research
• determine if an open access journal is indexed in reputable databases
• review how to deposit a manuscript into the Prism repository

Check out Galter Library’s NIH Public Access Policy guide describing the logistics of submitting papers to the NIHMS system and maintaining compliance with the NIH’s Public Access Policy. See the NIH Scientific Data Sharing site for information that may affect research publishing.