Librarian
320 E. Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Audience for this guide
This guide is aimed at students in Phase 1 of the MD program at Feinberg School of Medicine. It features books and resources on the required and recommended readings lists, as well quick links to the databases, ebook collections, and other links you'll need during M1/M2. Please email us with recommendations for additions to this guide and don't hesitate to contact us for resource and strategy assistance.
Top Databases
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowAccess to MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's biomedical literature database, using the PubMed search engine.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
1000+ textbooks, 500+ journals, practice guidelines, drug info, and 5,000+ patient handouts in English and Spanish. Also includes First Consult, ProceduresConsult, over 13,000 videos and millions of images. You can filter your search results by clinically meaningful subcategories (content type, specialty, disease, and more).
NOTE: Register for a free personal account to access all site features (like downloading e-Book PDFs): Sign up for an account. - Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new windowDrug information resource that includes the NMH hospital formulary.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database, including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
- UpToDateOnline textbook/database, especially strong on clinical medicine.
ECMH and High Value Care Resources
Health Care Cost Tools
Prescription Drug Cost Tools
Prescription drug costs may be found using a variety of commercial sites that offer discounts to patients. Some include:
E-Book Collections
Quick Links
- Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination Streaming VideosIf you encounter a "Sign in to Lippincott Clinical Context" page, you may click on "Continue as anonymous library user" to access this resource without creating a personal Wolters Kluwer account.
- FAIR Health consumer This link opens in a new windowHelps consumers understand healthcare costs and health coverage and bring transparency to healthcare costs and insurance.
