Library & Information Science

This list includes some topics of current interest, with links to reports, projects, and other information.

Accessibility

• Big Ten Academic Alliance- Library Accessibility (Introduction)
• CHORUS Accessibility Resources
• Library Accessibility Alliance

Artificial Intelligence

• Artificial Intelligence: ChatGPT, AI Literacy, and more - McGill University Library
• ChatGPT: Implications for academic libraries- C. Cox and E. Tzoc, ACRL TechConnect 84(3) (2023)
• Generative AI in Scholarly Communications / STM
• Research Libraries Guiding Principles for Artificial Intelligence / ARL
• Resources for Understanding the Ethical Implications of Artificial Intelligence (AI) / Choice
• Responsible AI in Libraries- Research products from the IMLS-funded Responsible AI in Libraries and Archives project.

Data and Open Science

• Data Quality Literacy Project
• Data Services Specialization - Medical Library Association
• NIH Scientific Data Sharing - NIH site
• NIH DMSP Guidance Working Group - WG site with implementation guidance to researchers and research support staff (e.g. librarians, offices of research, etc.).
• Open Science Training Handbook

Disability / Representation, etc.

• Black Lives Matter Comics Reading Lists - ALA Graphic Novels & Comics Round Table
• Cultural Proficiencies for Racial Equality: A Framework - Joint ALA/ARL Building Cultural Proficiencies for Racial Equity Framework Task Force
• DEIA Resource Lists / Choice
• Medical Libraries and Their Complicated Past: an exploration of the historical connections between medical collections and racial science - JMLA 111(3), July 2023
• Perspectives on Justice, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion in Libraries - Nandita, M.; Cawley, M.; Jones, E.P.
• Representation in Medicine - ACP Online
• A Resource Guide about Disabilities, Disability Theory, and Assistive Technologies - JJ Pionke (American Library Association, Carnegie-Whitney Project)

Hospital Librarianship

• New Hospital Librarians Resources - MLA Hospital Library Caucus- Education Task Force

Library and Information Science- podcasts, blogs, repositories (sampling) 

• The Librarian Linkover: Changing the paradigm on librarian leadership / Lorene Kennard (podcast host and producer)
• Think Clearly Blog: Library Blog / Lauren Hays
• Whitepapers Collection / ExLibris - "curated selection of open-access and registration-required whitepapers that explore the evolving role of libraries in academic AI, student success, technology adoption, and user experience transformation"

Library and Information Science- academic librarianship

• Health Science Library Practicum- Guide designed for the Loyola University Chicago, Northwestern University, and the University of Illinois at Chicago health science and medical libraries student [virtual] practicum position (offered once a year).
• Health Sciences Virtual Internship- Internship intended for LIS or public health graduate students coordinated by librarians in the Region 6 office of the National Network of Libraries of Medicine. Contact outreach specialist for more information.
• Job, Residency & Internship Listings - Association of Research Libraries
• Library and Information Science- Northwestern University Libraries guide to sources on trends, best practices, and research 

Scholarly Communications / Scholarly Publishing

• The Scholarly Communication Notebook- in-development repository of community-designed and curated open resources for teaching about scholarly communication and for doing scholarly communication work in libraries
• COAR International Repository Directory (IRD)- Repository Browser
• The Scholarly Kitchen / Society for Scholarly Publishing

Systematic Reviews and Evidence Synthesis

• Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions. London, UK: Cochrane, 2020.
• CRD's Guidance for Undertaking Reviews in Health Care. York, UK: University of York, 2008.
• Finding What Works in Health Care: Standards for Systematic Reviews. Washington, D.C: National Academies Press, Institute of Medicine, 2011.
• GalterGuide > Systematic Reviews
• ISSG Search Filter Resource
• JBI Manual for Evidence Synthesis. Adelaide, Australia: Joana Briggs Institute, 2020.
• Methods Guide for Effectiveness and Comparative Effectiveness Reviews. Rockville, MD: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 2017.
• NLM Products to Support Systematic Reviews
• Searchxiv- sharing search strategies for better evidence synthesis

This list includes a few key textbooks and other information sources.