GalterGuides: Library & Information Science: Databases

Core Databases in Library & Information Science

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts provides full text of journal articles and indexing of books, research reports and conference proceedings. covering librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, and electronic publishing. Coverage extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Library & Information Science Source
Content includes full text for more than 460 publications and indexing for hundreds of high-quality journals, as well as books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage encompasses librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. In addition, Library & Information Science Source provides comprehensive coverage of the history of library studies.
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text
Library Literature & Information Science Full Textcovers subjects ranging from automation, censorship, government aid, public relations and much more. It provides PDF page images offull-text articles, including charts, graphs, photos, and other important graphical information with coverage dating as far back as 1980. It indexes articles and book reviews in more than400 key library and information science periodicals andfull-text coverage for over 175 selected periodicals.

NOTE REGARDING ACCESS TO DATABASES:

Many databases require a license / authentication for access.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) is a free database available for anyone to search.
Library & Information Science Source -a free database available for anyone affiliated with Illinois libraries to search- coming soon.

Popular Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers It provides indexing for over 1,200 nursing journals and publications dating back to 1982.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing international journals in the fields of drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Journal Citation Reports allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately thousands of scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings published in over 60 countries.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
The premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychological Association, this database is a comprehensive index to the professional and academic literature in psychology, counseling and related disciplines. Covers 1860-present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed MEDLINE was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database, including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.

Library & Information Science

Core Databases in Library & Information Science

Popular Databases

Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Northwestern University
Feinberg School of Medicine