GalterGuides: Family & Community Medicine: Getting Started

Audience for this guide

This guide will highlight resources and tools for those interested or engaged in the study or practice of family and community medicine. Please let your liaison librarian know if you have any resources you would like to see displayed on this guide.

Department of Family & Community Medicine

Department of Family & Community Medicine
Visit the Department of Family & Community Medicine website for departmental news and events.

Your Library

Galter Health Sciences Library & Learning Center
Sign in to your My Galter account on the Galter Library website for access to the many resources your library has to offer!
Class Schedule
The Galter Library teaches a related class called PubMed. See our Classes schedule for the next available offering.
Request a Class
If this class is not on our upcoming schedule, it is still available to you or your group by request.

Key Resources

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed MEDLINE was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing international journals in the fields of drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database, including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.