Librarian
Krystal Madkins
Contact:
Galter Health Sciences Library & Learning Center
320 E. Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611
320 E. Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611
312.503.2557
Audience for this guide
This guide is intended to help you navigate resources for Prosthetics and Orthotics using library services, finding a book, locating a journal or article, navigating a database, and finding quality web resources. Please email us with recommendations for additions to this guide and don't hesitate to contact us for resource and strategy assistance.
Top Databases
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowAccess to MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's biomedical literature database, using the PubMed search engine.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window1000+ textbooks, 500+ journals, practice guidelines, drug info, and 5,000+ patient handouts in English and Spanish. Also includes First Consult, ProceduresConsult, over 13,000 videos and millions of images. You can filter your search results by clinically meaningful subcategories (content type, specialty, disease, and more). Register for a free personal account to access all site features (like downloading e-Book PDFs): Sign up for an account.
- Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new windowDrug information resource that includes the NMH hospital formulary.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database, including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
- UpToDateOnline textbook/database, especially strong on clinical medicine.
E-Book Collections
Quick Links
- FAIR Health consumer This link opens in a new windowHelps consumers understand healthcare costs and health coverage and bring transparency to healthcare costs and insurance.
Systematic Reviews
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers.