Feinberg Research Support

The NUCATS institute is Northwestern University's Clinical and Translational Science Award partner whose mission is to provide scientists with consultative resources and expertise in order to accelerate how quickly transformative scientific discoveries make their way to patients and the community. NUCATS provides a variety of services for clinical and translational researchers through various centers and programs:

• Applied Research & Informatics Group (AIRG)
  • Research Electronic Data Capture (REDCap) support: REDCap is a browser-based electronic data capture (EDC) tool with advanced metadata and security features. It is often used for data collection in clinical trials. Northwestern is a member of the REDCap consortium and support is offered for project owners.
  • Study Tracker: a web-based clinical trials management system that helps to improve efficiency, safety and security for subjects in scientific studies.
  • NITRO Competitions: a platform to run NIH-style grant competitions including pilot projects and research awards.
• Biostatistics, Epidemiology and Research Design
  • Biostatistics Collaboration Center (BCC): The BCC provides biostatistical, epidemiological, programming, and data management support for investigators. Specific areas of expertise include statistical genetics, clinical trial design, and longitudinal, multilevel and survival analysis.
  • Read more about the collaboration between NUCATS and the BCC.
• Center for Clinical Research
  • Read more about clinical research infrastructure at NUCATS.
  • Institutional Review Board: The IRB at Northwestern has a variety of resources to help you get your research project started, including determination of human subject research, guidance on which protocol templates to use, and assistance with maintaining compliance requirements for your research.
• Center for Community Health
  • The Center for Community Health (CCH) supports meaningful engagement of communities, patients and stakeholders across the research spectrum.
  • Learn more about consultation support and ShARPS, the Alliance for Research in Chicagoland Communities (ARCC), the Northwestern Primary Care Practice-Based Research Program (NP3) and dissemination and implementation.
• Center for Education and Career Development
  • The Center for Education and Career Development (CECD) works to train the entire spectrum of the translational research workforce.
  • Visit the training center to learn more.
• Center for Biomedical Informatics and Data Science
  • The Center for Biomedical Informatics and Data Science (CBIDS) provides a number of data analytics and informatics resources.
  • See the NU ARIG GitHub page for additional software tool development projects.
• Center for Translational Innovation
  • The Center for Translational Innovation (CTI) offers expertise in areas of technology commercialization and innovation.
  • Innovation and New Ventures Office (INVO): INVO focuses on identifying technologies with commercial potential, increasing the value of those technologies through intellectual property protection and helping in the development and movement towards commercialization through licensing, new ventures, and partnering.
• Dissemination & Implementation Program
  • The D & I Program is a collaboration between the Center for Community Health (CCH) and the Center for Prevention Implementation Methodology.
  • This program provides education, training and consultation to academic and community stakeholders on best practices for translating evidence-based services and programs into clinical and community practice.
• Evaluation & Continuous Improvement Program
  • The Evaluation & Continuous Improvement Program (ECIP) aims to continuously improve the speed, quality and efficiency of the methods and processes of clinical and translational sciences through a novel, real-time, data-driven evaluation and continuous improvement process focused on the goal of enhancing research impact to improve human health.
  • See the NUCATS Centers & Programs page for more information on ECIP services.
• Galter Health Sciences Library & Learning Center
  • Galter provides a variety of support services for the Feinberg School of Medicine.
  • Enhanced literature searching and systematic review support
  • Robust support for compliance of public access policies, including assistance with the NIH Policy on Data Management and Sharing, creating an NIH Data Management and Sharing Plan, NIH Public Access Policy compliance, myNCBI reporting, research reporting guidelines, and the new NIH biosketch format requirements
  • The Metrics and Impact Core, which provides services and support for bibliometrics, visualizations, assessing a study’s impact, and optimizing visibility and dissemination
  • Clinical informationists, who provide a range of integrated support activities to clinicians in the clinical environment
  • The Galter DataLab provides data-related training and collaborative services for Feinberg faculty, staff, and students. Through the free DataClinic service, we offer consultation and assistance in solving data-related issues.
• Northwestern University Data & Analysis Coordinating Center (NUDAAC)
  • NUDACC provides support for all components of the study life cycle including: study planning and design, data collection tool development, data monitoring and curation, regulatory reporting, statistical methods for data analysis, and preparation of results for dissemination of findings.
  • The center streamlines the research process and translates study findings.
• Team Science Program
  • "Team Science" is the study and application of principles, techniques and strategies in order to form, develop, lead and manage groups of individuals who are part of a research project or team.
  • For more information, see the Team Sciences Resource Page and the NUCATS Resources Directory.
• Voucher & Pilot Programs
  • See more information about these programs on the Funding Resources page.

Need assistance? See the NUCATS help page.