It is now possible to find and download full-text articles from journals licensed by Northwestern University Libraries directly from EndNote.
Configure full text preferences
You should configure EndNote to access full-text articles through the Northwestern University Libraries link resolver for optimal full-text retrieval. To do this, follow these instructions in EndNote:
- Endnote 20 > Preferences > Find Full Text
- Paste this URL into the box for OpenURL Path: http://resolver.library.northwestern.edu/nwu
- Paste this URL into the box for Authenticate: http://turing.library.northwestern.edu/
- Click Save
Note: If you are off campus you should log into the NU VPN (see below)
In the left column of the same window, click URLs & Links
In the Open URL Arguments box, change the text at the beginning of the string from ?sid=ISI:WoS to ?sid=ISI:endnote. You do not need to change any of the other text in the Arguments box. Click Save.
Find and download full-text articles
- If you are off campus, sign in to the NU VPN .
- Select your desired reference(s) in your EndNote library.
- Choose one of these options:
- From the References menu, select Find Full Text OR
- Right click on a closed reference in your library and choose Find Full Text from the contextual menu OR
- Open your desired reference(s), right click and choose Find Full Text from the contextual menu.
Note: Full-text articles are only available from free full-text journals or journals licensed by Northwestern University Libraries. If full-text fails to download it is likely because:
- EndNote is not configured correctly to download full-text from the Northwestern University Libraries link resolver (see configuration instructions above)
- Full-text is not licensed for that particular journal title
- The article you're trying to download falls outside the date range of licensed full-text access
- You are off campus and not signed in to the NU VPN
Here are two video demonstrations to show you how to find full-text articles and how to set full-text preferences: