Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

My NCBI

An introductory guide to the navigation and use of the National Center for Biotechnology Information's My NCBI tool on PubMed.

"My Bibliography"

Creating a bibliography of your own publications is easy and a way to manage your publication list. In fact, if you have NIH grants, you must use My Bibliography within My NCBI as your publication management system. On the My NCBI login page, you can log in with your eRA Commons (NIH) login.  This will automatically show your bibliography linked to your eRA Commons account (if you had one) and any manuscripts that have been linked to your NIH awards.

If you don't have NIH grants, and therefore do not have an NIH login, you can just use whatever My NCBI login you have. 

You can see "My Bibliography" as a panel in your My NCBI page.

  • If you have been named a delegate for someone else's bibliography, it will also show up in the "My Bibliography" panel.

  • To manage your bibliography, click on the "Manage My Bibliography" link under your bibliography.

  • When you are viewing your My Bibliography page, if you haven't created your bibliography yet, just click on the "+ Add citations" menu near the top of the page.

  • To add citations to your bibliography, you can search PubMed for your manuscripts and add them. If you have publications that are not listed in PubMed, as well as other types of scholarly output, you can enter them manually using a fill-in form provided. Use the drop down menu in the "+ Add Citations" menu to add "Manually," then select the publication type from the manual entry panel's dropdown. You can also upload an .ris formatted file from EndNote or other citation management software.

Screen shot of My NCBI My Bibliography box.