Librarian
Molly Beestrum
Contact:
Galter Health Sciences Library
303 E. Chicago Ave., Ward 1-196
Chicago, IL 60611
303 E. Chicago Ave., Ward 1-196
Chicago, IL 60611
312-503-4508
Using Images from the Web
The Web is an excellent source of health-related images and many images are freely available for the purposes of teaching, studying, presenting and other educational activities. The use of images, even for educational purposes, is governed by the stated terms of use of each website and subject to U.S. Copyright Law.
Permission may need to be obtained to use images in teaching and presenting, and utilizing images for the purpose of publication commonly necessitates permission from the publisher or copyright holder.
History of Medicine Image Collections
- Duke University Medical Center Archives - MEDSpace Digital RepositorySearchable collection of 3,000+ photos, illustrations, engravings, and bookplates from the history of health and life sciences.
- Historical Anatomies on the Web (NLM)A digital project designed to give access to selected images from important anatomical atlases in the National Library of Medicine's collection.
- Images from the History of Medicine (IHM)Access to over 70,000 images in the collections of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- Medicine and Madison AvenueContains health-related advertisements and historical documents collected between 1911 and 1958 from the Duke University Libraries Digital Repository.
- NLM's History of Medicine DivisionNLM's History of Medicine Division digital projects and collections.
- Otis Historical Archives on FlickrUnofficial home for public domain photographs from the National Museum of Health & Medicine.
- Wellcome ImagesThemes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.
Medical Images on the Web
- Bio-Image SearchStanford Medicine's Lane Medical Library image database enables discovery of biomedical images you can use i.e., images with Public Domain & Creative Commons licenses.
- Radiology Atlas ImagesContains images of the following regions: thorax, abdomen, pelvis and perineum, upper limb, lower limb and head and neck from the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences Gross Anatomy resource.
- Dermnet - Skin Disease AtlasContains 23,000+ images of skin diseases. Publishing images requires written permission.
- Catalog of Clinical ImagesCollection of physical examination findings. Images are organized into these categories: Abdomen, Eyes, Head and Neck, Thorax, Upper Extremities, Lower Extremities, Skin and Genital/Rectal from the University of California San Diego.
- Open-iOpen-i service of the National Library of Medicine enables search and retrieval of abstracts and images (including charts, graphs, clinical images, etc.) from the open source literature, and biomedical image collections. Searching may be done using text queries as well as query images.
- ViziometricsA databases of open access illustrations, photos, graphs, and tables for U of Washington.