Skip to Main Content

Alumni

Resources and websites of interest to health sciences program alumni of Northwestern University.

Databases and Other Websites

  • PubMed  — free access to MEDLINE, the premier biomedical literature database produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
  • Cancer.gov  — gateway to peer-reviewed information by cancer type. Includes links to PDQ (Physician Data Query), SEER (Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results) and other specialized information resources.
  • Clinical eCompanion  — free clinical information website geared especially towards primary care providers that searches multiple free, reliable health information resources.
  • ECRI Guidelines Trust— a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. [Note: This site is a redevelopment of the National Guidelines Clearinghouse, for which funding ceased in 2017.]
  • FAIR Health Consumer- information about medical and hospital costs, dental services, shoppable services, and includes a body part procedure locator.
  • Internet Archive- an evolving digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form.
  • Medical Heritage Library —a curated resource of digitized primary materials in the history of medicine.
  • MedlinePlus  — authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. It also includes information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and the latest health news.
  • MyHealthfider- U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion site with information on health topics and conditions.
  • NLM site — main site of the National Library of Medicine (NLM): start here to initiate searches from one Web interface, providing "one-stop searching" for many of NLM's information resources or databases, including MEDLINE (PubMed), ClinicalTrials.gov, Open-i, and MedlinePlus.
  • Open Access Directory- compendium of lists.
  • Pharmacy, drug, and chemistry topics: PDR (now called Prescribers’ Digital Reference)- to be used as a reference aid. It is not intended to be a substitute for professional guidance on prescription medications. Drug & Medical Information: Free Online Resources (Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences LibGuide). PubChem (U.S. National Library of Medicine).

LIBRARIES AND LIBRARY HOLDINGS