Architecture of Prism
Prism is based on open-source architecture called InvenioRDM that is used by institutions worldwide. The repository provides stable, long-term preservation and ongoing maintenance for content contained within the repository.
The InvenioRDM software publishes a public road map which details the development of new features.
Metadata in Prism
The descriptive metadata for Prism is primarily based on the DataCite schema, which is a standardized set of elements or terms commonly used to describe resources in a variety of formats. Because DataCite has been widely adopted by different platforms for different applications, its use ensures that the metadata input in Prism is interoperable with other systems and easily interpreted by users. For more information about DataCite, see the DataCite website and a list of the terms contained within the DataCite schema along with their definitions.
Membership in COAR
Prism is a member of the Confederation of Open Access Repositories (COAR). COAR's mission is to enhance greater visibility and application of research outputs through global networks of Open Access digital repositories. Moreover, COAR aims to enable every citizen in the world to access and benefit from knowledge produced from publicly-funded research.
User Support
If you need to report a problem with or share feedback about Prism, or would like to request assistance or consultation, please contact prism@northwestern.edu. Please allow two business days for a response.
System Maintenance Hours
To keep systems running at peak performance and to ensure the best possible service, routine testing and maintenance are performed during a daily maintenance window from 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 a.m. CST. During this time, systems and services may be affected.
Timeline
2015
Work begins on DigitalHub. Violeta Ilik (Head of Digital Systems and Collection Services), Piotr Hebal (Software Application Developer), Kristi Holmes (Library Director) and others review architecture options and begin implementing the Fedora/Hydra stack option.
Metadata schema is chosen. Violeta Ilik (Head of Digital Systems and Collection Services) and Tony Olson (Cataloging Librarian) select the Dublin Core schema as a basis for descriptive metadata for DigitalHub.
Develop a cross-library workgroup. The Digital Initiatives Working Group (DIWG) is created to achieve successful and sustainable implementation and adoption of the DigitalHub repository. Librarians from all departments are invited to participate in DWIG.
DigitalHub is launched. The official launch of DigitalHub to the Feinberg community is right on time for Open Access Week 2015.
2016
First Birthday. October 5, 2016 marks DigitalHub's first birthday. The event was celebrated with several speakers, including Leah Welty (Associate Professor of Preventive Medicine), Luke Rasmussen (Clinical Research Associate), Sara Grady (Editor of Science in Society, Northwestern), and Violeta Ilik (Head of Digital Systems and Collection Services) and a birthday cake!
Digital Object Identifiers. The DigitalHub team at Galter Health Sciences Library has exciting news for the Northwestern Medicine community. We have partnered with the California Digital Library to assign persistent unique identifiers - Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) and Archival Resource Keys (ARKs).
Now Accepting Audio Files. DigitalHub begins accepting deposits with the resource type: "audio-visual document" by adopting metadata from teh VIVO ontology.
Now Accepting Datasets. DigitalHub begins accepting deposits of datasets associated with publications to help investigators comply with journal data sharing policies.
The IIIF Mirador Image Viewer. Developers integrate the IIIF Mirador image viewer from Stanford University, which allows users to analyze images and add annotations
Notable Submissions.
StatTag Software. StatTag is a free plug-in for conducting reproducible research and creating dynamic documents using Microsoft Word with the Stata and SAS statistical software (future versions will work with R) created by Leah Welty, PhD, Associate Professor of Preventive Medicine (Biostatistics). Dr. Welty used DigitalHub to share a description and a link to the software in GitHub, making her software more discoverable and accessible to users world-wide.
Science in Society. Northwestern’s research center for science education and community engagement created a collection in DigitalHub of award winning scientific images to better connected users with these stunning images.
Pediatric Neurology Briefs. Pediatric Nuerology Briefs is a new collection in DigitalHub, being made available as Open Access (OA) as a continuing education service designed to expedite and facilitate the review of current scientific research and advances in child neurology and related subjects. The DigitalHub team collaborated with the editor and assistant professor of pediatrics and neurology at Feinberg, to host the complete archives.
Presentation on DigitalHub Development
Ilik, Violeta; Hebal, Piotr; Olson, Tony; Stirnaman, Jason; Kubilius, Ramune; Wishnetsky, Susan; Gutzman, Karen; Shank, Jonathan; Holmes, Kristi: "Supporting the Spectrum of Scholarship in DigitalHub". Poster Presentation, Force 2016 Conference, Portland, OR, April 2016. figshare
2017
COAR Membership. Galter Library becomes a member of the Confederation of Open Access Repositories (COAR). COAR's mission is to enhance greater visibility and application of research outputs through global networks of Open Access digital repositories.
Notable Submissions.
Biostatistics Collaboration Core Lecture Series. This new collection is made openly available as a free introductory lectures on biostatistics in medical research by the Biostatistics Collaboration Center.
Center for Community Health. The Center for Community Health develops a new collection to house their evaluation, intake and tracking forms which serve as guides for other Clinical and Translational Science institutes around the country.
Center for Prevention Science Methodology. The Center for Prevention Science Methodology Group has established a Center for Prevention Implementation Methodology Collection as part of making their research products openly available, per NIH open access requirements. The group’s materials are a national-level resource of information in the field of prevention implementation methodology.
Mention in the Journal of the Medical Library Association.
Ilik V, Holmes K. A repository solution for the future. In: Facing reality: the growth of virtual reality and health sciences libraries. Eds. Lessick S, Kraft M. J Med Libr Assoc. 2017 Oct;105(4):407-417. PMC: PMC5624433. doi: 10.5195/jmla.2017.329
2018
Paper published on DigitalHub development.
Ilik V, Hebal P, Olson A, Wishnetsky S, Pastva J, Kubilius R, Shank J, Gutzman K, Chung M, Holmes K. DigitalHub: A Repository Focused on the Future. Medical Reference Services Quarterly.2018:37:1, 31-42. Available at: https://doi.org/10.1080/02763869.2018.1404386
New Leadership. The Digital Initiatives Working Group welcomes new leadership from Sara Gonzales (Data Librarian). Additionally, Karen Gutzman (Head, Research Assessment and Communication) brings her leadership skills to DigitalHub's ongoing development.
Notable Submissions.
Dialogues in Oncofertility. Dialogues in Oncofertility is a record of scholarly output generated by members of the Oncofertility Professional Engagement Network (OPEN). The goal of Dialogues is to preserve the intellectual works created by the oncofertility community and to promote its authors by enabling discovery and accessibility of these works by the international scientific community.
Masters in Public Health Capstone Projects. DigitalHub begins accepting the capstone projects of students in the Masters of Public Health program at Northwestern University in July 2018.
Ethical Considerations for Molecular HIV Surveillance in the United States. This report by David Evans, Nanette Benbo is made possible with help from the Third Coast Center for AIDS Research
Member of DataCite. Galter Library becomes a member of DataCite community and will receive unique DOIs from their DOI Fabrica service.
2019
Notable Submissions.
NUCATS Grants Repository. The NUCATS Grants Repository serves as a centralized resource for grant writers and investigators at various career stages, and allows access to training, research, and career development awards from various funding agencies. The repository includes templates, stock/boilerplate language, and other resources and tools, all housed in DigitalHub, an institutional repository for the research and scholarly output of Northwestern Medicine maintained by the Galter Library. If you have questions about accessing the collection or materials within the collection please email nucats-ed@northwestern.edu.
12th General Hospital Collection. The 12th General Hospital Collection is comprised of the papers of James A. Conner and Michael L. Mason who were sent along with other Northwestern Medical School faculty to Algeria and Italy to care for wounded and ill troops. The collection includes: correspondence, memos, protocols, reports, publications, meeting minutes and receipts of the Officer's Club, photographs, poetry, uniforms and insignia, and artifacts that provide insight into both the official duties of the medical personnel and some of their pursuits during their leisure time.