Using SciENcv to Create an NIH Biosketch and Other Support Documents

My Bibliography, the reference tool created by the NCBI, is a centralized place for your publications where citations can be easily accessed, exported as a file, and made public to share with others. It is a great way for the NIH to see the entire body of your work, especially the things that you were not able to include on the NIH Biosketch. Access My Bibliography through your My NCBI account.

NIH awardees are required to use My Bibliography to associate their awards with their publications. These associations are imported into the annual progress reports by eRA Commons.

A few other things to know about My Bibliography:

• There are four different ways for you to populate a My Bibliography collection.  The fastest of which is probably to add them through PubMed by using the send function. 
• Even when your My Bibliography collection is set as public to share with others, you can still select individual citations within it to label as private and they will not be displayed in the public view page.
• Citations can be sorted by author name (either in ascending or descending order), by publication date (newest to oldest or oldest to newest), or by recently updated citations. If you are logged in via your eRA Commons-linked account, you can also sort your bibliography by NIH Public Access Policy compliance status.
• You can filter your citations by your own grants they are associated with by using the “filter citations” feature. You can also filter by public & private status, or use the small colored compliance icons at the top to filter by compliance status (only when logged in via your Commons-linked account).
• There are several other tips you can find on the NCBI My Bibliography information page.

Adding publications (products) from your NCBI My Bibliography is virtually the same as with the previous SciENcv NIH format.

If you have publications in My Bibliography:

• They will show in the window. 
• You can use the search box to search your publications and click the checkboxes next to those you wish to include.

It's best to make sure you have populated your NCBI My Bibliography, but you can add publications from within SciENcv that will be also added to your My Bibliography.

With the My Bibliography tab selected:

• Click on ADD PRODUCT
• An overlay search window will open, which will allow you to search PubMed for your publications
• Click checkboxes next to any you wish to add to My Bibliography. You will get a green confirmation message that the publications were successfully added to your bibliography. 
• Click the CLOSE link
• This all happens without you having to leave the SciENcv interface.

If you need to add manual entries (journal articles that don't appear in PubMed, conference abstracts, software, etc.), you can add them to My Bibliography first, then select them in SciENcv:

• Click on MANAGE MY BIBLIOGRAPHY
• You will be taken to your My Bibliography, usually in another tab in your browser.
• Click on + Add citations > Manually
• Fill out the form and save it
• Go back to the SciENcv interface. Your new manually added citation will be available to select and include.