Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

My NCBI

An introductory guide to the navigation and use of the National Center for Biotechnology Information's My NCBI tool on PubMed.

Creating Collections

It's easy to create collections of references using My NCBI. You can access your collections from any location after signing in to My NCBI. To create collections and save references to them:

  1. Sign in to My NCBI.

  2. Run a search.

  3. Select the references you want to save by checking the box prior to each reference.

  4. From the "Send To" menu choose "Collections." Click "Add to Collections."

  5. To create a new collection, choose that option and name it.

  6. To add these to an existing collection, choose "Append to an existing collection" and choose a collection from the drop-down menu.

You can access your saved searches and collections from any location. Just sign in to My NCBI. You will see your saved searches and collections arranged as panels.
  • Use the text links below each panel to manage the objects in the panel (searches, collections, etc).

  • Use the links at the top of the page to customize the panels that appear on your MyNCBI page.

  • You can click and drag panels around to put them where you want them, or click the X boxes to remove them altogether.