|
Document Type |
Description |
|
Abstract |
An overview or summary of research submitted to or presented at a meeting. |
|
Art and Literature |
An original work of fiction, music, poetry, or a script. |
|
Article |
A published research paper. |
|
Bibliography |
A listing of publications typically devoted to a particular topic, author, or time period |
|
Biography |
An article or publication, usually containing a bibliography, on the life and works of an individual. |
|
Book |
A monograph or publication written on a specific topic. |
|
Case Report |
A description of the presentation, diagnosis and treatment of a patient. |
|
Clinical Trial |
A study performed on patients to test the safety and efficacy of medical procedures. |
|
Correction |
A second citation of an article or publication for the purpose of correcting an error. |
|
Data Paper |
A scholarly publication describing a particular dataset or collection of datasets and usually published in the form of a peer-reviewed article in a scholarly journal. The main purpose of a data paper is to provide facts about the data (metadata, such as data collection, access, features etc) rather than analysis and research in support of the data, as found in a conventional research article. |
|
Data Set |
A single or coherent set of data (or a data file) provided by the repository as part of a collection, data study, or experiment. These can be of multiple file formats such as spreadsheet, video, and audio. |
|
Data Study |
A description of studies or experiments held in repositories with the associated data used in the data study. These are linked to a repository and may optionally link to Data Set records relating to the more granular data files. |
|
Editorial |
An authored viewpoint on a topic. It includes discussions, commentary and opinion pieces. |
|
Government Publication |
A publication produced by national, state, or local government. |
|
Legislation |
A proposed or enacted law. |
|
Letter |
Usually an informal, unsolicited, brief notation submitted to a journal concerning a specific finding or commenting on a previously published item in that journal. |
|
Meeting |
A collection of papers or abstracts from a meeting or symposium. |
|
News |
An item that reports recent events or developments. |
|
Patent |
A uniquely numbered legal, technical description of an invention which secures exclusive rights to its assignees. |
|
Reference Material |
Source of collected information to aid in research. |
|
Report |
A publication describing the process, progress, or results of research. |
|
Repository |
A database or collection of records that stores and provides access to the data from Data Studies and Data Sets. |
|
Retracted Publication |
An article that has been withdrawn by an author, institution, editor, or a publisher because of errors or unsubstantiated data. |
|
Retraction |
A public notice that an article should be be withdrawn because of errors or unsubstantiated data. |
|
Review |
A renewed study or survey of previously published literature providing new analysis or summarization of the research topic. |
|
Standard |
A publication of established guidelines for a given biomedical subject area created by an accepted authority such as a committee, society, or government agency. |
|
Thesis/Dissertation |
Formal research document written to qualify for an academic degree. |
|
Other |
Used when none of the above document types apply. |