Google Scholar indexes many disciplines and sources, including articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites. Google Scholar is independent of any publishing house and currently indexes around 398M records, and that number grows each year. It does not have any known quality standards that journals must meet to be indexed, and the scope of journals indexed by Google Scholar is unclear.
Publish or Perish is a software program that retrieves and analyzes academic citations from a number of databases, including Google Scholar. First, you'll want to download and open Publish or Perish. Once in Publish or Perish, in the "Search" menu, select "New Google Scholar Search." Enter or paste the search terms in "Key words" and click "Search." Prior to clicking to search, you may also want to limit the search to the last 5-10 years. The search may take time and has a limit of 1000 results because requesting too many results, too quickly from Google Scholar results in Google Scholar limiting your access or preventing you from using Google Scholar for 1-2 days.
Once your results are ready, click on the "Search Term" that you wish to download the results from (if you have completed more than one search in Publish or Perish). Then click on "File" and choose "Save Results to CSV." When you open the CSV in Microsoft Excel (or another spreadsheet software), you can sort by "Source" and use the Consolidate function to combine and count duplicates, so that you can see which journals your key words were found in most often.
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences. PubMed is independent of any publishing house and includes 5,200 Medline journals as well as life sciences journals from PubMed Central. PubMed has quality standards that journals must meet to be indexed, but if a journal begins to fall below those standards, it is not removed from future indexing. All of the journals indexed in PubMed are also indexed in Web of Science and Scopus.
To find a list of journals from PubMed, google PubMed. In the PubMed search box, type or paste your search strategy and click "Search." In the results page, you can filter the search, such as limiting it to the past 5-10 years. Once you've applied any filters you wants, click on "Save"; for Selection, choose "All Results" and for Format, choose "PMID," then click "Create File." Next, open a browser to PubReMiner. Past the PMIDs you previously saved into the "Start remining PubMed for" box and click "Start PubReMinder." Once you have the results, you can click on "Save the results as a txt-file" and open the file in Microsoft Excel.
Scopus is one of the largest abstract and citation databases and includes scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings covering a wide "scope" of fields (hence the name Scopus), such as science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus is owned by the publishing house, Elsevier, and currently indexes somewhere around 25,100 journal titles and that number grows each year. Scopus has quality standards that journals must meet to be indexed and if a journal begins to fall below those standards, it can be removed from future indexing. All of the journals indexed in PubMed are also indexed in Scopus.
To find a list of journals in Scopus, make sure you are on the Northwestern VPN, then google Scopus. In the Scopus search box with the parameters set to "Search within Article Title, Abstract, Keyword," type or paste your search strategy and click "Search." In the results page, you can filter the search, such as limiting to the past 5-10 years. Once you've applied any filters you want, scroll to the bottom of the "Export filter counts" section and click on "Export filter counts" to download a CSV that includes the journal titles from your search results.
The Web of Science is one of the largest abstract and citation databases and includes scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings covering fields such as science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Web of Science is independent of any publishing house and currently indexes somewhere around 34,586 journal titles and that number grows each year. Web of Science has quality standards that journals must meet to be indexed and if a journal begins to fall below those standards, it can be removed from future indexing. All of the journals indexed in PubMed are also indexed in Web of Science.
To find a list of journals in Web of Science, make sure you are on the Northwestern VPN, then google Web of Science. In the Web of Science search box with the parameters set to "All Fields," type or paste your search strategy and click "Search." In the results page, you can filter the search, such as limiting to the past 5-10 years. Once you've applied any filters you want, click on "Analyze Results." In the Analyze Results page, choose "Publication Titles" from the drop-down list. If you scroll to the bottom of the page, you can export the results as a CSV.
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.