Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Medical Education on Film

A guide to the educational and archival films (1928-1963) of Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine.

Henry Doubilet, MD, 1903-1964

Henry Doubilet, MD, was a Montreal-born, internationally known surgeon and authority on the biliary and pancreatic systems. Early in his career he worked in the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology at Northwestern University Medical School with Andrew C. Ivy, PhD, MD, and later taught in the Department of Surgery at New York University Medical School. Photo from the Images from the History of Medicine collection, National Library of Medicine.

Doubilet's film in the collection is: Contraction and Evacuation of the Gall Bladder in the Rabbit Following the Intravenous Injection of Cholecystokinin

Glenn E. Drewyer, MD, 1906-1989

Glenn E. Drewyer, MD, received a bachelor's degree in medicine and physiology from Northwestern University in 1930. As an undergraduate student he worked with Andrew C. Ivy, PhD, MD, in the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology. He subsequently received his MD and was on the staff of the Glenwood Hot Springs Clinic in Colorado and later practiced medicine in Flint, Michigan. Photo from the Images from the History of Medicine collection, National Library of Medicine.

Drewyer's film in this collection is: Gall-Bladder Contraction and Evacuation Caused by the Hormone "Cholecystokinin"

Andrew C. Ivy, PhD, MD, 1893-1978

Andrew C. Ivy, PhD, MD was professor and chair of the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology at Northwestern University Medical School from 1925 to 1946, after which he held a similar position at the University of Illinois until 1961. He wrote hundreds of articles in his career and, in terms of how often his work was cited by other researchers, was likely in the top 1% of his field. Ivy is also known for his participation in the 1946 Nuremberg Medical Trial. He was chosen by the American Medical Association to be a medical ethics consultant at the trial, where he testified for the prosecution against Nazi doctors and military personnel.

Ivy's films in the collection are:

  • Contraction and Evacuation of the Gall Bladder in the Rabbit Following the Intravenous Injection of Cholecystokinin
  • Gall-Bladder Contraction and Evacuation Caused by the Hormone "Cholecystokinin"
  • Hypnotoxin Theory of Sleep
  • Monkey Uterus in Labor

Frederic T. Jung, PhD, MD, 1898-1998

Frederic T. Jung, PhD, MD, worked as a chemist before becoming a faculty member in the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology at Northwestern University Medical School in 1926. He taught at NUMS until 1946. He published 40 scientific papers during his career and co-wrote a textbook on anatomy and physiology that was first published in 1939. 

Jung's film in the collection is: The Control of Voluntary Muscles (Some Principles of Kinesiology)

William H. Lazear, DDS, 1920-2019

William H. Lazear, DDS, studied at Northwestern University and earned his DDS in 1943 before serving in the Navy during World War II. He worked as a dentist in Winnetka, Illinois, and was third in a line of five generations of his family to practice dentistry. 

Lazear's film in the collection is: The Control of Voluntary Muscles (Some Principles of Kinesiology)

Jacob Sacks, PhD, MD, 1901-1978

Jacob Sacks, PhD, MD, received his medical degree from Northwestern University Medical School in 1930 after receiving a PhD in pharmacology from the University of Illinois in 1926. As a medical student he worked with Andrew C. Ivy, PhD, MD, in the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology. He later taught in the Department of Pharmacology at the University of Michigan Medical School from 1932 to 1944.

Sacks's film in the collection is: Gall-Bladder Contraction and Evacuation Caused by the Hormone "Cholecystokinin"

J. G. Schnedorf, PhD, MD, 1913-1948

J. G. Schnedorf, PhD, MD, received his degrees at Northwestern University and as a student worked with Andrew C. Ivy, PhD, MD, in the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology. Later, he was a professor of surgery at the University of Kansas and, after serving in the Army Medical Corps during World War II, worked as a surgeon in Santa Barbara, California.

Schnedorf's film in the collection is: Hypnotoxin Theory of Sleep