Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote 20 for Windows

The Galter Library's guide to EndNote 20 for Windows

Inserting Citations into Your Paper

  • Place the insertion cursor after the text you are citing.
  • If you are using Microsoft Word, go to the Tools menu and select Go to EndNote.
  • If you are using another word processor, switch to EndNote.
  • Highlight the reference you want to cite from your EndNote library.
  • Here are 5 ways to add a reference to your paper: 
    • While still in EndNote, go to Tools, Show Toolbar, CWYW/Add-in, then use the Insert Citation button in that toolbar.
    • While still in EndNote, go to Tools, Cite While You Write, and Insert Selected Citation(s).
    • If you are using Word, go to the Tools menu and select Insert Citation(s).
    • Also with Word, you may choose Insert Citation(s) from the Add-in menu in EndNote.
    • You may copy/paste or drag/drop the reference into the spot in your document where you want to cite it. This works with any word processing software.
  • The "Cite While You Write" feature in EndNote does two things as you insert citations in your document: 
    • In-text citations will be formatted into the output style you last used (provided Instant Formatting is enabled -see Formatting Your Bibliography below).
    • An ongoing bibliography will be created in the same style.

The following video shows how to insert EndNote references into Word.

Formatting Your Bibliography

  • Once you have inserted citations into your paper, you may at any time format or re-format your bibliography, providing your EndNote library is open.
  • If you are using Microsoft Word, go to Tools>>EndNote (version no.)>>Format Bibliography.
  • If you do not see the style that you want to use in your list of options, follow the instructions below to change your list of bibliography styles.
  • The Format Bibliography box also allows you to enable or disable Instant Formatting.

The following video demonstrates how to format a bibliography using EndNote with Word.

Changing Your List of Bibliography Styles

  • Go to the Edit - Output Styles - Open Style Manager to pick from approximately 500 potential bibliography styles. This is a fraction of available styles. If you don't see the style you need, click the Get More on the Web button where you can search from a list of 5000+ styles.
  • Select as many styles as you would like to be placed in your shortlist of styles.
  • You can always add or remove styles later.
  • Close the Style Manager window.

The following video demonstrates how to add bibliography styles to your EndNote shortlist of output styles, including installing styles from the EndNote website.

Creating an Independent Bibliography

There may be occasions when you will want to create a stand-alone or "independent" bibliography.

  • Open a blank Word document and the EndNote library that contains the citations for your bibliography.
  • Select the citations you want included in your bibliography.
  • Choose your desired output style from the drop-down menu in the toolbar. If you don't see the output style you want click "select another style" at the top of the list. Then choose your style from the subsequent list.
  • While holding down the Ctrl key, drag the highlighted citations into your Word document.